Workers Compensation Law

Are there any Timelines when Filing a Worker’s Compensation Claim in New Jersey?

New Jersey Workers Compensation Claim

Sustaining a workplace injury can be one of the most unfortunate and devastating things that can happen to you but it is imperative that you take action quickly and file a workers’ compensation claim.

It may be wise to also speak to a workers’ compensation attorney about your rights so as to best protect yourself and ensure that you are prepared, moving forward.

Failing to notify your employer about a workplace injury or illness could bar you from being able to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Read on to learn more about some of the most important time related aspects of filing a workers’ compensation claim.

Time Limits for Filing a Claim

Workers’ compensation claims in New Jersey must be filed within two years after the last payment of compensation or the incident itself. For occupational illnesses, however, like hearing loss, lead poisoning or asbestosis, claims have to filed within a two-year period after you first become aware of the condition associated with your employment. Payment of compensation can include medical treatment that an injured worker is authorized to receive by an employer.

Also Read: The Stages of Filing a Workers’ Compensation Claim

How Long Do I Have to Be Out of Work in Order to Receive Workers’ Compensation?

In order to collect temporary disability benefits, you must be unable to work for a non-consecutive or consecutive 7 days. These benefits may be awarded retroactively. It’s important to note that there is no clear waiting period for getting benefits for permanent disability.

You should always notify your employer right away after a work injury. If you fail to do so, you may be ineligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits at all. If your doctors have informed you that your disability may impact you for a long time, it’s a good idea to consider your rights to file for disability. Acting immediately may allow you to get compensation sooner rather than later.

If I Receive Disability Benefits, When Will I Start Receiving Them?

Workers’ compensation insurance carriers have a 60-day period during which you should receive benefits, and you should also expect to receive simple interest for the delay. In the majority of cases, it’s reasonable to expect your first benefit within this two-month time frame,

Applicants may even get disability benefits sooner, but it’s a good idea to plan on the 6 to 8-week period. Talk with your workers’ compensation attorney to see what might be involved in your case.

Does it Really Matter When I File a Workers’ Comp Claim in New Jersey?

If you have recently been injured in a workplace accident, timeliness is critical. You may be under the impression that the workers’ compensation program is there to help you. While in theory this is certainly true, you may encounter numerous obstacles and challenges as you move through the workers’ compensation system.

Many individuals are filing a workers’ compensation claim for the first time and can be overwhelmed by the frustrating aspects of this process.

Trying to figure it out on your own may be aggravating and even impossible. Thankfully, you do have the option of engaging a disability lawyer at any stage in the process to protect you. Since minor mistakes and omissions can lead to a denied disability claim, you should always have your lawyer look over application prior to submission so as to minimize the chances of avoidable denials.

Contact An Expert New Jersey Worker’s Comp Attorney Today

Without having an experienced attorney to guide you, it can lead to delays and problems associated with denials. In order to give yourself the best possible chance of receiving your benefits and figuring out what to do in the event that you are denied or other unreasonable actions are taken, you need to hire a New Jersey workers’ compensation lawyer from the outset of filing your claim.

Once you have notified your employer about the accident or illness, you need to consult with a workers’ compensation attorney quickly. It can be extremely beneficial to be knowledgeable about your rights when you enter into this process.

Do not hesitate to reach out to the offices of a New Jersey workers’ compensation attorney if you have recently been injured on the job and have questions about your rights.

Related Post:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top